UAT Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is comprised of representatives with a direct interest and stake in the development and success of the Unified Astronomy Thesaurus. The Committee members serve as representatives of the UAT, promoting it to global astronomy and astrophysics, library and publishing communities, developing test cases and increasing its overall use. The Committee members assess the use of the UAT to gain a broader understanding of its role and impact, and use this understanding to represent the interest of the users when assisting with the refining of the UAT. The Curator focuses on the development of a professional thesaurus, drawing upon outreach and input from the astronomy community. As the steward and owner of the UAT, the American Astronomical Society (AAS) ensures support for the work of the Curator and Committee and the long term development and success of the thesaurus. Committee members serve a one or two year term, with an option to renew. The UAT-SC meets monthly by conference call.

Alberto Accomazzi
(ex officio)
Principal Investigator for the NASA Astrophysics Data System
Daina BouquinHead Librarian at the Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian
Raffaele D’AbruscoChandra X-ray Center at the Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian
Katie Frey
(ex officio)
Curator of the Unified Astronomy Thesaurus
Assistant Head Librarian at the Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian
John LeibacherInstitut d’Astrophysique Spatiale (Universit√© Paris-Saclay)
Lunar and Planetary Laboratory (University of Arizona)
National Solar Observatory
Adrian LucySTScI Fellow, Catalog Science Branch, Space Telescope Science Institute
Jeff MangumNational Radio Astronomy Observatory and PASP Editor-in-Chief
Demitri MunaUniversity of Texas at San Antonio
Jenny Novacescu (Chair)Chief Librarian, Space Telescope Science Institute
Ricky PattersonDirector of Research Data Services, University of Virginia Library
Henrik SpoonPhysics, Astronomy, and Mathematics Librarian, Cornell University
Gretchen StahlmanAssistant Professor, Department of Library & Information Science at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Julie Steffen
(ex officio)
Chief Publishing Officer for the American Astronomical Society
Peter WilliamsAAS Innovation Scientist

We thank former UAT Steering Committee members for their service:

Sébastien Derriere, Observatoire de Strasbourg (2021-2022)

Barbara Kern, Science Libraries at the University of Chicago (founding – 2022)

Graham McCann, IOP Publishing (founding – 2022)

Ethan Vishniac, American Astronomical Society (founding – 2021)

Sarah Weissman, Space Telescope Science Institute (founding – 2022)